William J. Gies Award: Dr. Michael S. Reddy

Presented by the American Dental Education Association William J. Gies Foundation for the Advancement of Dentistry

For his outstanding contributions to the field of periodontology, Dr. Michael S. Reddy is the 2016 recipient of the William J. Gies Periodontology Award. Dr. Reddy, currently the dean of the University of Alabama at Birmingham (UAB) School of Dentistry, has spent his career as a clinician and educator, having served as a lecturer at UAB and at Harvard, where he earned his Doctorate of Dental Medicine Degree, certificate of periodontology, and Doctorate of Medical Sciences Degree in oral biology. Since 1989, he has been a staff clinician at both the Children’s Hospital of Alabama and at the UAB’s faculty practice.

As a senior scientist at the UAB Center for Metabolic Bone Disease and the UAB Center for Aging, Dr. Reddy is a renowned researcher whose studies have focused on regenerative medicine as well as links between overall health and oral inflammation. He is a 2006 awardee of the R. Earl Robinson Regeneration Award and the AAP’s 1992 Clinical Research Award. In 2011, Dr. Reddy was recognized with an AAP Special Citation Award for his role in the creation of the Clinical Advances in Periodontics journal, for which he is currently the co-editor. He is also the associate editor of the Journal of Periodontology and has previously served on the editorial boards of the Journal of the American Dental Association and Journal of Dental Education. He has held roles as a reviewer for such publications as the Journal of Dental Research and International Journal of Periodontics and Restorative Dentistry.

In addition to service on a number of UAB School of Dentistry committees, Dr. Reddy has long been an active volunteer in organized dentistry, with service on the AAP’s Leadership Development and Qualifications Committee and its Task Force on Future Science. He is a past chair of the Academy’s Scientific Oversight Committee.

Members Only Content: 
Not Member Only