2017 Special Citation Award

This award is presented to members for outstanding work on an Academy committee or special project. Among this year’s recipients is Allan Charles, DDS, a Pasadena, California periodontist who has served on numerous AAP committees. His participation includes 16 years on the Academy’s Patient Benefits and Advocacy Committee (which he chaired from 2012 to 2016) and the Board of Trustees. “Dr. Charles is very dedicated to his practice, patients, colleagues, and the Academy,” says Dr. Cary Shapo, AAP Trustee and friend of Dr. Allan for more than 25 years. In addition to his service to the AAP, Dr. Allan is a past president of the California Society of Periodontists and the Western Society of Periodontology.

David Okano

Christopher Richardson

James Wilson

This year’s special citation honorees also include Academy Trustees David Okano, DDS, MS, Christopher Richardson, DMD, MS, and Secretary/Treasurer Elect James Wilson, DMD, who comprised the AAP Task Force on General Assembly Voting. Together, the group implemented procedures that enabled members to vote on Constitution and Bylaws amendments without having to be present at the General Assembly held during each AAP Annual Meeting. “This group went above and beyond to develop a protocol that now allows all eligible members to be involved in the voting process,” says Dr. Benjamin Duval, AAP Trustee. “This has created an incredible member benefit worthy of a special citation.”

Members Only Content: 
Not Member Only