2012 AAP Awards for Outstanding Teaching and Mentoring in Periodontics

This award is given at each dental school to the periodontal educator who has demonstrated a commitment to excellence in providing education in the full scope of clinical periodontics and relays that enthusiasm to students.

To receive this award, an educator must be an AAP member and can be a pre- or postdoctoral educator and a full- or part-time faculty member. The AAP congratulates the 2012 award recipients listed below.

Arizona School of Dentistry and Oral Health Aristiois Pontikas, DMD, MS
Boston University Gail McCausland
Case Western Reserve University Hui-Jin Lee, DDS, MSD
Columbia University Evanthia Lalla, DDS
Dalhousie University Tamara Wright, DMD
Georgia Health Sciences University Kobi Stern, DDS, MS
Harvard University Giuseppe Intini, PhD, DDS
Loma Linda University Martyn Green, DDS
Louisiana State University Charles McCabe, DMD
Marquette University Barry Entin, DDS
Mayo Graduate School of Medicine Daniel A. Assad, DDS
Medical University of South Carolina L. Thomas Weir, DDS
Meharry Medical College John D. A. Harvey, DDS
Midwestern University Trever Siu, DMD, MS
Naval Postgraduate Dental School LCDR John W. McGehee
Nova Southeastern University Sigmund Stahl, DDS, MS
Oregon Health & Science University Winthrop B. Carter, DDS
Southern Illinois University Elio Reyes Rosales, DDS, MSD
SUNY at Buffalo Daniel J. Zeiter, B.Sc., DDS, MHS
SUNY at Stony Brook Kathleen Frost, DDS
Texas A&M University Health Sciences Center, Baylor College James B. Barnes, DDS
Tufts University Natalie Jeong, DMD
United States Army Dental Activity Col. Douglas R. Dixon, DMD, PhD
Université de Montreal Robert Durand, DMD, MS
University of Alabama Matthew D. Litz, DDS
University of California Los Angeles Susan Haake, DMD, MDent, PhD
University of California San Francisco Richard T. Kao, DDS
University of Colorado Michael Kantor, DMD, MS
University of Connecticut Vincent N. LaPorta, DMD
University of Florida Luz D. Oreste, DDS
University of Iowa College of Dentistry Kim A. Brogden, BS, MS PhD
University of Kentucky Mark V. Thomas, DMD
University of Louisville Ricardo Vidal, DDS, MS
University of Manitoba Anastasia Cholakis, DMD
University of Medicine and Dentistry of New Jersey Joel N. Pascuzzi, DMD
University of Michigan Michael Britt, DDS, MS
University of Missouri Kansas City David May, DDS
University of North Carolina Cristina Parra, DDS
University of Pacific Navid Knight
University of Pennsylvania Marianne Contino
University of Pittsburgh Francis J. Ceravolo, DDS
University of Southern California Alon Frydman, DDS
University of Tennessee Rania Livada, DDS, MS
University of Texas Health Science Center at San Antonio Yong-Hee Patricia Chun, DDS, PhD
University of Texas School of Dentistry at Houston Gina T. Bonaventura, DDS, MS
University of Washington Robert H. Johnson, DDS
West Virginia University Eros S. Chaves, DMD
Wilford Hall Ambulatory Surgical Center Ruben S. Sagun, DDS, MS


Members Only Content: 
Not Member Only