Academy Announces Election Results

Results are in for the AAP 2023 election. The individuals below will begin their terms after the 2023 Annual Meeting. There was a 29.67% participation rate, compared to a 30.7% rate in 2022.

The results are as follows:

American Academy of Periodontology


Kristi Soileau – Secretary/Treasurer

President Elect Stephen J. Meraw will succeed to the Presidency, Vice President Maria (Mia) L. Geisinger to the office of President Elect, and Secretary-Treasurer Ana Becil Giglio to the office of Vice President.

District 3- Cecil White Jr.*
District 3- Charles McBrayer*
District 4- Hom-Lay Wang
District 5- Brad Crump*
District 6- Perry Klokkevold
District 7- Constantine Pavlakos*

Officer Nominating Committee
District 2- Bryan Frantz
District 5- Michael Mills
District 8- David Kwon

Nominating Committee for the American Board of Periodontology
District 5- Brian Mealey
District 6- Gerald Drury*
District 7- Vincent Iacono*
District 8- Allen Gunn

American Board of Periodontology

Nicolaas (Nico) Geurs
Douglas Dixon

*Re-Elected / ** one-year term / + two-year term

For More Information

Questions about AAP nominations and elections can be directed to:

Jodi Sassana
Senior Manager, Governance and Executive Affairs at 312-573-3265 or [email protected]

For commonly asked questions, please refer to the following FAQ document: